Interview with Mercedes from Fluffy Ghost!

Hello Everyone! I’m excited to start introducing everyone to my lovely April sponsors! First one up is the lovely Mercedes from Fluffy Ghost! Enjoy the Interview! 🙂 And make sure to check out her awesome blog!

Tell us a little bit about yourself!

Hi, My name is Mercedes & I run a little website known as Fluffyghost.
I have a huge passion for Japanese culture & the country itself! I’ve been an over obsessed addict of Hello Kitty for the last ten years. (I even got it tattooed on the back of my neck!) Through the incredible Sanrio, it introduced me to a world of Kawaii! That from there I just haven’t been able to resist all the Harajuku, Lolita, San-x & food with faces goodness the world has to offer! To this day, I’ve started to learn Japanese through Rosetta Stone, just so I can indulge myself deeper into what I love today. Plus to be able to understand everything from a conversation to reading/writing is going to be pretty awesome to!

What made you want to start a blog?

I’ve always read blogs on a daily basis for the last 3 years. It got to the point when blogs became my newspaper. That I thought “Why not” start my own. It allows me to express myself & share my knowledge on all that is Kawaii. Plus it links me to all my favourite blogs (So I can get to them in an instant!:D) Plus with so many inspiring people out there, such as The Dainty Squid, Drop Dead Cute & yourself Sarah; I had to have a slice of the action haha. ^___^
Plus by starting a blog, it feeds my creativity into over drive, which I love! As I now have a reason to create!


Any advice to future bloggers?

Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there. It took me months to even gain a handful of frequent readers for my blog. So don’t be put off at the lack of readers when you start. (As it does feel that you’re writing to a non-existent audience.) But with some great content, a lot of persistence and a bit of advertising you will get noticed & that’s when it starts to pay off!
Also research your target audience that you want to grasp that is defiantly key! If your passionate about what you’re talking about then there’s no reason why you can’t have a successful blog. But these things come with a lot of hard work & patience. With all of that the sky’s your limit really!


Apart from blogging what are your favorite things to do in your spare time?

In my free time, I take on freelance work as well as designing illustrations on CS5 (which I use on a daily basis. ^___^) I love to oil paint, bake, sew, decorate my house & upcyling unwanted stuff to serve a new purpose which I find really rewarding. I love Anime such as Studio Glibli; the Cat Returns is my ultimate favorite! But I also indulge in less known Anime such as The Melancholy Of Haruhi Suzumiya. I love to listen to H.I.M, Electric light Orchestra, Modest Mouse & Miku, as well as lot of old school rock like Eric Clapton, The Beatles & Candlebox. (The list could go on forever really.)
I also love to relax with my kitty Hewiee & mess around with my partner Mr. H, family & friends whilst taking a million pictures!

Where do you see yourself 5 years from now?

Hopefully with a successful business that pays my bills! I hope to see myself with a rewarding Esty store as well as my online clothes store. To become less of a graphics designer, but more of a successful illustrator such as San Smith. To be able to design for a bigger audience such as music festivals and well-known establishments. Who knows I might even open my own store, selling local Artists work & my own; with a cute music themed café (with themed tables with LP players built into them for customers to enjoy) surrounded with lots of music merchandise and instruments. I’ve always loved the idea of having my own Art studio in that shop in the back rooms, providing lots of different Art classes.
Mmmmmmm…One day haha! That is quite a big dream but with a lot of hard work and some awesome people, who says I can’t make it happen!

Anything else you’d like to share? 🙂

I’m proud to say that my clothes shop is officially open: www.fluffyghost.spreadshirt.co.uk There will be loads of new designs added frequently so be sure to check it out!

On another note, my Etsy shop will open fairly soon too. I know I’ve said a couple of weeks a couple of times but there has been added complications, which are sorted out now. I have the entire stock ready, just waiting on my models so I can do one huge photo-shoot. I just want to get it spot on, as im abit of a self confessed perfectionist so things have to be just so! But updates through my site & twitter shall follow on that.
Oh & follow me on my Facebook page please haha! ^____^

Isn’t she the cutest!! 😀 Keep an eye out for my upcoming interviews with the other amazing sponsors!! 🙂 And don’t forget to enter the giveaway below! 🙂

xoxo
Sarah*

Leave a Reply

